Key racing numbers for round four -
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 2 (permalink) Old 05-01-2014, 07:26 AM Thread Starter
Back in the Day
Moeman's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 51,143
Images: 665
Thanks: 2,026
Thanked 2,544 Times in 2,156 Posts
Feedback Score: 148 reviews
Key racing numbers for round four

Ahead of the Gran Premio bwin de España, Mo To Gee P pulls together a selection of key World Championship facts and figures.

56.570s – Michael Laverty, who finished 18th in Argentina, finished just 56.570s behind winner Marc Marquez; this was just the second time in the 65-year history of motorcycle Grand Prix racing that the first 18 riders across the finish line in a premier class GP have finished within one minute of each other. The other occasion was Malaysia 2007, when 18th place finisher Makoto Tamada was 59.596 seconds behind winner Casey Stoner

49 – Romano Fenati’s victory in the Argentine Moto3 race was the 49th GP win for KTM. Casey Stoner gave KTM their first win, in the 125 class in Malaysia in 2004. The breakdown of the 49 Grand Prix wins from KTM is: 125cc - 13, Moto3 - 27 wins and 250cc - 9

45 years – On race day at Jerez it will be exactly 45 years since another Spanish circuit, Jarama, was first used for a Grand Prix event – to host the 1969 Spanish Grand Prix. The home crowd had plenty to celebrate when Santiago Herrero (Ossa) became the first Spanish rider to win a 250cc race

27 – Jorge Lorenzo celebrates his 27th birthday on race day

17 – On race day, it will be exactly 17 years to the day since Alex Criville won the 1997 500cc GP at Jerez – the first in a sequence of three successive wins at the circuit for Criville

6th – Andrea Iannone finished 6th in Argentina, which is the best result for a satellite Ducati since Randy de Puniet was sixth at the Australian GP in 2011, also riding a Pramac Ducati

3 – Tito Rabat is only the third rider in the Moto2 class to start the season with podium finishes at the opening three races of the year; the other riders to have done this are Marc Marquez and Pol Espargaro, both in 2012. If Rabat finishes in the top three at Jerez, he will be the first rider in the Moto2 class to start the season with four successive podium finishes

3 – In Argentina, Marc Marquez became the first rider to win the opening three premier class races of a season since Valentino Rossi in 2001; if he also wins in Jerez, he will become the first rider to win the opening four premier class races of a season since Mick Doohan in 1992

3 – Marquez has not only won the opening three races, but all from pole position; the last rider to win three successive MotoGP races from pole was Jorge Lorenzo in 2010. If Marquez wins from pole in Jerez, he will be the first rider to win four successive MotoGP races from pole since Valentino Rossi - in the final three races of 2003 and the opening race of 2004

1 – Jerez is the only circuit on the current Grand Prix calendar on which Marc Marquez has never been able to celebrate a race victory in any of the three classes

If it doesn't challange you it won't change you
Only two ways to live life. One is as though nothing is a miracle. The other is as though everything is a miracle.
Moeman is offline  
Sponsored Links
post #2 of 2 (permalink) Old 05-02-2014, 01:04 AM
Nico's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Adelaide
Posts: 13,137
Thanks: 135
Thanked 1,528 Times in 1,047 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
MM is also the first rider to win the first 3 races of the season from pole since Agostini in 1971
Nico is offline  
Sponsored Links

Quick Reply

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:


Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome