600RR.net

600RR.net (https://www.600rr.net/vb/)
-   03 / 06 RR (https://www.600rr.net/vb/103-03-06-rr/)
-   -   Dual Headlights With Write Up (https://www.600rr.net/vb/103-03-06-rr/58476-dual-headlights-write-up.html)

nate96 09-12-2006 01:10 AM

Dual Headlights With Write Up
 
I am no longer making these. I sold my bike.

Hopefully the mods dont get mad, as I messed up the last write up and want to start fresh.

Things needed.

1-10amp SPDT Relay.It is also made by NTE. Can use one found at an automotive store. $5.99
1-1ohm 25 watt resistor, or 2-2 ohm resistors wired parallel.$1.49 http://www.nteinc.com/resistor_web/resistors.html
(THIS IS FOR 55-60 WATT BULBS. DO NOT USE 100WATT BULBS FOR THIS)
I used an enclosure to put the relay I used in it. $4.99
Should be able to find these at an Industrial Electronic Store.
5' of wire
Soldering Iron, and some Solder
1.5 hours of your time

www.active123.com is where I got my stuff. They are located in Canada tho

Add all the wire to the relay. Leaving at least 12" of length for the wires going to the headlights, and about 8" for the ones going to the resistor.


http://i89.photobucket.com/albums/k2...ectrical-1.jpg
The relay should look like this
http://i89.photobucket.com/albums/k2...Wedding010.jpg
I used mostly all black wire so It looks closer to stock looking.

Then drill out holes in the enclosure. 3 on one side, 2 on the other.
Slide the wires through the holes until the relay is in the enclosure.

http://i89.photobucket.com/albums/k2...Wedding013.jpg

Should look like this

http://i89.photobucket.com/albums/k2...Wedding012.jpg

Flip over the enclosure. I put about 5 layers of electrical tape to protect it from the heat of the resistors.

Add the wire to the resistors. Make sure to solder the connections.
http://i89.photobucket.com/albums/k2...Wedding014.jpg

I then cut the wire, and added some heat shrink. Then taped the resistor to the enclosure.

http://i89.photobucket.com/albums/k2...Wedding016.jpg

The relay is done.


I placed the enclosure under the instrument cluster using some double sided tape. It is hidden and out of the way.
http://i89.photobucket.com/albums/k2...dlights017.jpg

You can follow the first picture on how to wire it to the bike. Solder and heat shrink all of your connections


Stock With One light Low beam

http://i89.photobucket.com/albums/k2...ghtLowBeam.jpg

With low Beam on 100% and High Beam on at 40%

http://i89.photobucket.com/albums/k2...6/LowBeams.jpg

With Both Lights on 100%

http://i89.photobucket.com/albums/k2.../HighBeams.jpg


This can be done many different ways. This is just how I did it this time.
If I do another I might try to incorporate everything inside an enclosure.

600rrrider 09-12-2006 01:30 AM

Nice........good job.

craig4722 09-12-2006 02:09 AM

I'll be doint this when i get the crazy Eyez mod. Thanks for the write up.

05'600RR 09-12-2006 01:15 PM

Kinda cool, thanks for the write up.

nate96 09-12-2006 03:29 PM

Installation Instructions

Items Needed.



Wire Strippers

Soldering Iron

Solder

Heat Shrink

Heat Gun or Hair Dryer


  • Place relay under the instrument cluster where it will be mounted.
  • Move wire 1 to the low beam side, and wires 2,3 & 4 to the high beam side.
Low Beam Side
  • Cut Low beam side positive side at A(Black with white marks). Make sure to leave enough length so you can solder on new connections.( I added some more wire to mine)
  • Cut a piece of heat shrink about 1.5 long and place over the wire going to the bike.
  • Strip back wire 1 and both sides of A.
  • Solder all 3 ends together
  • Allow to cool a bit then move the heat shrink over the connection and shrink.
High Beam Side

Power the Light
  • Cut the High Beam positive side at B(Black with Blue marks). Make sure to leave enough length so you can solder on new connections.( I added some more wire to mine)
  • Cut a piece of heat shrink about 1.5 long and place over the wire going to the relay.
  • Strip back wire 2 and E
  • Solder Both ends together
  • Allow to cool a bit then move the heat shrink over the connection and shrink
Power the Relay
  • Cut a piece of heat shrink about 1.5 long and place over the wire going to the bike side at C.
  • Strip back wire 4 and C
  • Allow to cool a bit then move the heat shrink over the connection and shrink
Ground the Relay
  • Cut the High Beam negative side at D(Black ). Make sure to leave enough length so you can solder on new connections.( I added some more wire to mine)
  • Cut a piece of heat shrink about 1.5 long and place over the wire going to the relay.
  • Strip back wire 3 and D
  • Solder Both ends together
  • Allow to cool a bit then move the heat shrink over the connection and shrink
  • Remove the piece over the double sided tape and mount permanently


You are Finished

http://i89.photobucket.com/albums/k2...e96/Tony2B.jpg
http://i89.photobucket.com/albums/k236/nate96/TonyB.jpg

berzerkus 09-12-2006 04:10 PM

I have done this, and I must say it's one of the best and cheapest mods I've done.

acldillill 09-12-2006 04:24 PM

DAMN that is awesome. When people asked about this everybody said it really couldnt be done correctly, but i guess people were wrong. Has this had any negative effects on your bike?

RedRisingSun04 09-12-2006 04:45 PM

+1 for nate and his new sticky.

slab42 09-12-2006 06:17 PM

nice writup nate!

nate96 09-12-2006 08:05 PM

The only negative impact I can think of, is you will go through more High beam lights. But on the other hand you are more visible. Other than that the bike runs as normal.

Quote:

Originally Posted by berzerkus
I have done this, and I must say it's one of the best and cheapest mods I've done.

Glad to hear you got it to work

I would be willing to make these for people. As i have a lot of spare time right now. But I'd like to get 5 to do all at once. Let me know if your interested

craig4722 09-13-2006 09:32 AM

Hey i'm trying to get 5 people together who are like me and do not have all the tools to put one of these resistors. Nate has stated if he can get 5 of us in a week he will make us one each.

So if your interested in having him make you one of these sign below, I know I'm not the only one here:

1 Craig
2
3
4
5

irocka600rr 09-13-2006 08:16 PM

I'd definitely like to have one made for me. Add "Corey" to the list.

1 Craig
2 Corey
3
4
5

RR-Dark 09-13-2006 11:53 PM

Cool write-up, but I don't understand: What is the point of this mod? I read the post 2x but don't see an explanation?

Thanks!

irocka600rr 09-14-2006 12:11 AM

It allows both headlights on newer model 600rr's to be used in lowbeam mode whereas usually only one light is illuminated for lowbeams and both for high beams. Definitely looks much better at night - and stops all the annoying people saying "you have a headlight out" when I have my lowbeams on.

LilGuns 09-14-2006 12:19 AM

whats the price anyhow? if its not to bad add me down for it!!!
1 Craig
2 Corey
3 LilGuns
4
5

nate96 09-14-2006 12:53 AM

..........

craig4722 09-14-2006 11:54 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by nate96
I am gonna find out tomorow how much shipping is. As I have to ship one to another board member. Then I'll have a better idea of cost. The materials cost varies depending on what they have in stock. I am guessing shipping will be around the $5-7 range. So if I can get 5 people on the list. I can go down and purchase the stuff to give a total. I am guessing around 30 shipped.

Count me in for $30 shipped.

Also I have these lights currently installed on my bike which I believe the package says they are 100 watts.

Here is the link I got them from...
https://www.600rr.net/vb/showthread.php?t=11555

description states 55W @ 4,750K however the upper left package says 100W...which I will have to look at when I get home.

nate96 09-14-2006 12:29 PM

No Problem Craig. I was going to make these so that even if someone put in a 100 Watt bulb that it wont have ane effects on the switch. BTW if you use 2 of these relays, you can have both lights dimming by using 100watt bulbs. I would have done it that way but I already spent money on new bulbs.

But you must get your power from an alternate power than from the low beam if using the 100 Watt bulbs

craig4722 09-14-2006 03:48 PM

I'm looking to have both lights at low beem, and when i flick the high beem both lights go to 100% or what they are currently set at when you click on high beem

RR-Dark 09-14-2006 08:37 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by irocka600rr
It allows both headlights on newer model 600rr's to be used in lowbeam mode whereas usually only one light is illuminated for lowbeams and both for high beams.

Sorry, but I still don't get it. I'm not trying to be a ****, but why don't you just flip the highbeam switch and leave it on? Or is this some sort of trick to make BOTH lights BRIGHTER?

Thanks again.

slab42 09-14-2006 10:35 PM

it doesn't make either light brigher, but rather makes the high beam on (but less bright) while the low is on, and when you hit your high beam switch, your high beam goes to full intensity

LilGuns 09-14-2006 11:26 PM

come on guys two more people so we can get these!!!!! i have been messing with h4 harnesses to have hi/lo in each but this is cool too!!!

lexus 09-15-2006 10:27 PM

Hey Nate,

Nice write up! but im a little bit confused. Could you put the relay numbers on your diagram?

85, 86, 87, 87a, 30 example is here

http://www.the12volt.com/relays/relays.asp

lexus 09-15-2006 10:45 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by nate96


Power the Relay
  • Cut a piece of heat shrink about 1.5 long and place over the wire going to the bike side at C.
  • Strip back wire 4 and C
  • Allow to cool a bit then move the heat shrink over the connection and shrink

Is the Wire C the original Positive line connected to E?


Quote:

Originally Posted by nate96

Ground the Relay
  • Cut the High Beam negative side at D(Black ). Make sure to leave enough length so you can solder on new connections.( I added some more wire to mine)
  • Cut a piece of heat shrink about 1.5 long and place over the wire going to the relay.
  • Strip back wire 3 and D
  • Solder Both ends together
  • Allow to cool a bit then move the heat shrink over the connection and shrink
  • Remove the piece over the double sided tape and mount permanently

Do you splice line 3 into D? or it needs to be cut completely (3 ends being soldered or 2 ends?) The reason I ask is because your diagram shows 3 wires are connected.

lexus 09-16-2006 08:55 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by lexus
Hey Nate,

Nice write up! but im a little bit confused. Could you put the relay numbers on your diagram?

85, 86, 87, 87a, 30 example is here

http://www.the12volt.com/relays/relays.asp

Never mind I found your other post with the diagram

https://www.600rr.net/vb/attachment.p...achmentid=2407

jasonb 09-17-2006 10:49 PM

hey so what is going to be shiped I am intrested but just wondering what you will be sending to me. O yea and i have been wanting something like this for a while now.

nate96 09-18-2006 02:11 AM

Lexus: Yes C used to be connected to E. It is where you cut at B.
On line 3 connecting it to D. Yes there would be three ends to solder together. I did it that way so i could add more wire. But If you are good electricaly, you do not need to cut D, you could just get rid of some insulation and add 3 to it.

Jasonb: What would be shipped is the relay with resistors, in an enclosure already wired. Hopefully everything will be in the enclosure this time. There will be enough wire so all you need to do is wire it to the bike. The second part of the instructions.

kjoy064 09-19-2006 08:33 PM

Hey guys, i have been trying to do this for the past month since i got my 1000.
Nate96, over here in Australia i can not get hold of a single 1ohm 25w resister but have got my hands on 2x 1ohm 10w and 1x 1ohm 5w resistors, how would you go about wiring it up?

Cheers kristian

Huntstyle 09-19-2006 08:46 PM

I just ride with my high beams on at night, unless I'm right on someone's a$$. I don't care if people flash their brights at me, at least I know that means they can see me!

nate96 09-19-2006 09:26 PM

can you get 2-0.5 ohm 10W resistors. You could wire them series. Or 2-2.0ohm 10W resistors in parallel. You can get away with just 1-1.0ohm 10W resistor. As it will put out 8 Watts when hooked up. So it will just run hot. Just make sure to insulate very well if you do it that way. I can check tomorrow as I have all my stuff at work right now on using 0.5 ohms, or 1.5 ohms


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:54 AM.

Powered by: vBulletin | vBadvanced CMPS & Gallery
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome